NET(net), Inc.


Lots of new stuff today by jigordon
July 21, 2008, 9:32 am
Filed under: blog

If you’ve recently visited the regular blog site at www.licensinghandbook.com, you might have noticed a few new things.

First, I’ve changed the entire layout.  I thought it was time for a visual overhaul that made things easier to read and more accessible.  I’ve leveraged the power of WordPress and the skills of Mr. Michael Andrade.  He does great work.  Thanks Michael!  I also want to thank Kronick, an artist over at iStockphoto.  I’ve adopted several of his little-men graphics as the logos for various parts of this site.  But I was missing one for Symetrisk… and he created a DNALittleMan just for me.

Second, I’ve consolidated a LOT of various information here.  From now on, this is the central hub by which you’ll be able to continue to find great information about software licensing and contract negotiation.  But it’s also where you can find out more about me, purchase the Software Licensing Handbook and/or the Software License Risk Matrix, learn about the new Software License Education Series (coming soon) and Symetrisk (also coming soon).  Sites formerly found at http://www.contractnegotiators.com and http://www.symetrisk.com now redirect here, but if you’ve got them in your bookmarks, they’ll be kept active indefinitely, so you don’t have to make any changes.

Third, while you can’t usually see it from an RSS feed or standard web browser, reading most blogs via a mobile device is a pain.  So I’ve installed a mobile plugin to allow ease-of-reading for my mobile readers and anyone who is always on the go.  I have only been able to test it while looking via my Palm (I’m still lusting after the iPhone) – so if you see anything quirky, please let me know!

Fourth, I’ve added a forum.  You already know how much I want to hear from you.  Now you can talk without me starting the conversation.  All you have to do is a simple registration and you can begin posting TODAY!  I have created a few areas for sharing contract templates and documents… but the ultimate conversation is led by you.

Fifth, I’ve added a dozen or so behind-the-scenes features to make a richer experience.  I’ve added translation services for my non-native-English speakers, better search capabilities, more content and even book recommendations for my favorite contracts, software and negotiation-related titles.  To point it out again, there’s even a special area in the sidebar for suggesting blogging topics.

All in all, I think these changes are going to make the whole licensinghandbook blog experience a lot better for both me and you!

Oh… and while I’m on the subject of you, the reader, I just wanted to thank you all for your continued support and readership.  Last year at this time, I was getting about 10,000 hits per month.  Now it’s 40,000.  400% growth is pretty awesome and I appreciate your time!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

